Newcomer

Just introducing myself.

I am 55 & have been diagnosed with PD for 12 years. I showed symptoms for 3 years earlier. I have been fortunate so far but now the disease is beginning to take hold.Uncertain about the future. Unemployed for over 3 years with wife the same (she had 3rd nervous breakdown in 8 years ).Living on savings (spent £70k in the last 7 years just to hold onto what we have). Can not go on like this much longer.Mr Cammeron's party's decision to strip both of us from our ESA benefit costs us nearly £800 per 4 week period.I am keen to get back into a working environment.It is essential I do or we could lose every thing we have left.I am a qualified Accountant & have had some good jobs in the past.These days I cannot get work as a bookkeeper. My age is a big factor but the PD is the icing on the cake. There is mass ignorance as to what PD actually is. Do not want to sound too negative. Usually very positive but even I have black days.There is a sense of hoplessnes about our situation this time.For the first time in my life I feel vunerable & a victim. Any potive help out there ?
Hi arturo,
Thanks for coming here and welcome to the forum.

I'm really sorry to hear the struggles you've been having with ESA. We are worried that this may be happening to many people with Parkinson's. We're having a Q&A on this topic with an expert later this week.

In the meantime, do give a ring to the benefits adviser on our helpline at 0808 800 0303. He may be able to offer some advice and can assist you in finding out if there is any financial help available to you.

I'm sure that others in the community will also pop in to say hello and to offer support to you where they can.

Hello Arturo,