Newly Diagnosed

Hi, I’m 47 and newly diagnosed. I’ve been having investigations since June and had my pd diagnosis a couple of weeks ago - it’s now day 3 of medication. I’m constantly fluctuating between feeling fine to feeling completely devastated. I’m an artist and beekeeper and I’m obviously worried about how tremors and change in movement will affect these things. I’d love to hear particularly from any artists with pd. Thanks J

Sorry I’m not an artist in any format but as a fairly new parky I will wish you all the best. You can gain some good advice on here. Also try spotlight yopd! The main thing is to use the parkinsons nurse to answer all your questions to try and get your head around it.
Hope all goes well with the meds
LWYMI

Thanks for you support and direction - much appreciated.

Hi JanetB
I’m not an artist but I do have PD diagnosed spring 2016 and started beekeeping spring 2017. Having decided it was “now or never”, (I had dithered a long time before).
So very much a beginner bee keeper. My tremor is a resting tremor and comes and goes anyway so handling the bees is not a problem so far but I do find working with them calming as of course they don’t like being rushed. If I’m not feeling too good I delay an inspection for a day or so. Daffy

Hi Daffy,
It’s only my second season of beekeeping but I love it. I too find them very calming. When I’m feeling low I go and sit and watch the bees coming and going with their pollen baskets and it makes me feel happy. There’s a phrase from Edwardian times (I think) “tell it to the bees” where people used to tell their worst fears to their bees - I can relate to this.
Nice to hear from you. Janet

Hi janet
Great to meet a fellow bee person. They so fascinating, to watch, work with & learn about.
I’d be interested in what you think about the following as I’m finding it hard to get anyone to take me seriously.