Newly Diagnosed

Hi. I am really new to Parkinson's having been diagnosed in February 2014. I am gradually coming to terms with the situation and have been on the forum every day for the past two weeks-interested in how other folks cope with the condition. I have already met some really lovely people within Parkinson's UK and I am hopeful that I will manage well with their support-it's very scary!

Hi Faith, and welcome.

Indeed it's scary, especially just two weeks in, but you'll find plenty of support, help, and advice here. Whatever you're feeling, someone else is feeling too.

Best wishes

Semele

Love the Llama (sorry, Alpaca)

hi faith. and welcome smile

Hi everyone. Thanks for your quick replies. It's great to know you are there 'fingertip friends'.

I seem to fluctuate between finding great comfort there is a name given for my symptoms and then moments of the day believing the neurologist has it all wrong! I guess this is normal?

At this moment I'm trying to muster energy to go shopping!

Semele-I went Alpaca trekking in the Summer last year...it was fab.

yeh it can have its good & bad days your right there harder in this cold tho,some sunshine today that made it a good day !

Gus. Who is that in your avatar?

thats my old girl ebony shes 13yr old lab ,has trouble with back legs, & goes to bed earlier these days but some days she thinks shes a pup again !

Aww. She's very lovely. A reliable companion and friend. I have a dalmatian who's ten now. She's not much keen on walking far.... although she'd run a marathon for food!big grin

funny how they eat & eat if you give them the chance,nice speaking to you have you got many symptoms of pd and are they controllable i hope.its not all bad !  just make sure you enjoy life to the full.i think we take things for granted but it certainly opens your eyes.