OK... Now I'm worried :(

Hi all,

I'm very new to any of this. I posted over on newly diagnosed but I'm not diagnosed. Saw the GP last week about the strange chemical smell I keep smelling and was sent home with some antibiotic nose cream. A week of the cream has seen no change.

Over the weekend I read about the finger tapping test and tried it out. I was stunned to find that on my left side after a couple of seconds of tapping my finger locks down and just sort of 'spasms'. Trying really hard to concentrate on making it tap again just doesn't work. Really shocking and disturbing.

So I have just booked an appointment to see another GP tomorrow. Will be taking the list below of my other symptoms to show him as I'm not always great at explaining when I'm this worried. Is that a good idea to give him a written list?

Also, if he does refer me to a neurologist, how long might I expect to wait to see one? I'm really worried now and didn't sleep much last night.

Oh, BTW I'm a 47 yr old male teacher if that is relevant.

Thank you.

Left arm not swinging or barely swinging when walking

Left leg tendency to drag and/or scuff the floor if a don’t actively concentrate.

Left leg drags when turning sometimes

When getting up and walking after sitting, left foot stays put and almost trips me

Stiff left shoulder, uncomfortable to lie on at night, wakes me up sometimes

‘Chemical’ smell, not all the time, sometimes strong sometimes mild. Sometimes definitely a smell, sometimes more ‘internal’. Unpleasant, occasionally falls just short of being nauseating

Difficulty rising from a chair, some difficulty sitting down

Difficulty getting in and out of car (more so getting out)

Difficulty turning over in bed

A little difficulty getting dressed, particularly putting underpants on

Tendency to walk into things

Face feels ‘heavy’, more so as the day wears on

Timeline