Optimism

Am I being naive or unduly optimistic in hoping that the stream of positive news stories regarding research over the past few months herald the genuine hope that solutions are within reach to slow down the progress or even cure cure parkinsons. Can anyone who is involved in the research give an honest opinion as to the latest position
we never seem to get replies from researchers, doctors etc, either they dont read this or feel they shouldnt get involved,
I am a scientist but not in the medical field, so I can't really give a correct judgement. But to be honest I do believe that strong disease-modifying meds and maybe even the cure is already present in the current pipeline. The problem is that it takes an incredible amount of years before these things are approved and sold.

First, there is GM1 ganglioside. As far as I have read about current clinical trials this is almost like a real cure (in a 5 year clinical trial of 80 patients it looked that people at end of trial were better than at begin of trial). I am still very angry that for some reason the medical world doesn't provide this to PD patients. I personaly contacted the MJFF to ask for the reasons. Then I started to investigate in literature and I could counteract all of these reasons. So as far as I concluded these reasons are all nonsense. I also contacted the doctor doing the research. He told me he had no time to respond at the moment, but that he would do so in future. I am still waiting ... :rolling_eyes: