Parkinsonism and Driving

Hello,

Apologies if this isn’t the right section to post this question but I am a novice in using forums! My Mum was recently diagnosed (kind of) via a 10 minute video call with ‘parkinsonism’ - she has been waiting for a consultant appt. for 10 months and has a hand tremor, slowness in movement, slowness in thought sometimes and some associated muscle weakness. The consultant never said ‘parkinson’s disease’ as such and I’m just wondering if I should be talking to her about stopping driving and contacting the DVLA? I have been doing the majority of the driving in recent months as she has got weaker but at the same time I don’t want to take away the independence. Any info would be appreciated.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hi @Louisa_Carer

A warm welcome to the Parkinson’s UK forum.

I’m sorry to hear about your Mums recent diagnosis, I can imagine having to have your first consultation via phone wasn’t ideal.

The forum is filled with people at different stages on their Parkinson’s, so you’ve definitely come to the right place for support and a chit chat. You might be interested to know that we have a ‘newly diagnosed’ section on our website with a lot of information that will be relevant to you at this stage of your diagnosis. You can find this section here: https://www.parkinsons.org.uk/information-and-support/newly-diagnosed-parkinsons. There is also a to do list for people newly diagnosed which includes information regarding driving which may be useful https://www.parkinsons.org.uk/information-and-support/newly-diagnosed-do-list

We also have a confidential helpline and Parkinson’s local advisers are here to answer any questions you have about your recent diagnosis and life with Parkinson’s. Call us on 0808 800 0303.

Best wishes,

Sue - Moderation Team