Parkinsons and Ex Firefighters

Hi

I'm an ex firefighter and was diagnosed with Parkinsons 5 years ago, but think I've probably had it longer as took a long time to get a diagnosis. I've been reading an American survey into the relationship between firefighters and Parkinson's and would like to know if there are any of you out there who are ex fire brigade and diagnosed with Parkinsons. The American survey suggests the two are linked due to carbon monoxide and inert gases inhaled. Any opinions.
cfs
Welcome cfs
I have not heard any suggestion on this forum about firefighters in particular. That said there does not appear to be good understanding of what causes Parkinson's. We seem to have more teachers than you might expect here. (I'm not one of them)

I hope you find the forum helpful as I have done

Elegant Fowl
Thanks for that,I was trying to find if my PD was related to my past working environment where I have been exposed to various chemical incidents as there is no history of PD on either side of my parents lines

cfs
Hi I seem to remember reading that there is a proven link to Parkinson's and some of the chemicals farmers use, perhaps when spraying pesticides or sheep dipping.
Hi also if you've had a good knock on your head you can developed pd .another survey.john
Hi Cfs,

My husband has had PD for thirty years and is still now only 69 years.
He hasn't got any connection in his family of PD but he worked for the old PO and BT using a chemical called trichloroethylene a cleaning agent which they used for cleaning the teleprinters etc.This chemical is used in many fields and probably most men have some in their garage.