PD- "mind" interaction

I am an ICU doctor who essentially diagnosed myself with PD at age 40 - 10 years ago this past summer. It is unclear if "knowing" what I know is a curse or a blessing! There are three things of which I am certain- 1) having a chronic, progressive neurologic illness is disgusting, 2) I will fight to the end, and 3) experiencing this illness has made me a better physician.

For better or worse, I have always been incredibly introspective and a consummate perfectionist. The most dramatic realisation I've had over the last decade is how incredibly powerful the "mind" can be. It is not possible to overestimate the mind-body connection in PD. Months prior to diagnosis, I had subtle, minimal complaints- within a day or 2 of having been diagnosed- I became "end-stage Parkinsonian" —stooped-festinating-blank stare! After reassurance from my doc- I reverted back.

For me, fluctuations are much more strongly related to mood, expectations, anxiety than medication. I almost believe (almost being key) that if I could convince myself I don’t have PD- I wouldn’t. Some related points:

1) Anxiety (and relatively resistant) anxiety is par for the course in Parkinson’s. There is no question that it makes every symptom worse, and depending on the cause, situation, I can go from “normal” to a ‘zombie” and then to normal again in the absence of medication over the course of seconds.