PIP Telephone Assessment

Hello, I have a Telephone Assessment on the 26th June, (first time applying)
I wondered if it is really very daunting?

Hello waynesmith … You don’t say if you are having this as your first talk with anyone for a Parkinson’s assessment or whether this a follow up call. You also don’t say if you are on Parkinson’s medication.

I was diagnosed with Atypical Parkinson’s in June 2023 following a positive Datscan.

I now often speak with my Parkinson’s Nurse on the phone & do not find it at all
stressful or daunting. Just imagine you are talking to a friend.

Do have a list of questions pre-prepared.

Any questions please ask.

Best of luck
Steve2

Just read your info … I am a Nurse for 23 years, now work in digital patient records. my job has become harder since my diagnosis and i am awaiting a health/wellbeing appointment with the Trust i work for in Manchester, yes i am a Manchester United fan too and enjoy watching sport, going to quiz nights and eating out.

Manchester UK

Is this the assessment you are referring to ?

Steve2

Hi, it is a PIP assessment, sorry, thought I had put that in the context. Yes a healthcare professional will be phoning me to go through my claim.

PS I too work in Digital services in Manchester.

Sorry … yes it was in big writing. I missed it.

I would imagine that the person doing the PIP assessment is a nice person & is on your side. After all it is not their money.

I was referred by my GP to a person who helped me get the Attendance Allowance
& a Blue Disability Badge.

Also got me a face to face GP appointment & got me an assessment for improvements to get my flat disabled friendly.

Don’t worry about it … it’s a positive thing.

Steve2

She was a lovely lady.

Hello wanesmith.
I went through a PIP assessment about 14 years ago. They turned me down but I tried again, and this time I had a home visit and I was given the full benefit.