Pnew diagnosis

I’m Daz I’ve just been diagnosed with early stages Parkinson disease and am not in a good way I try to hide it from my wife how I really feel as I do not want to burden her with my disability.
I have been put forward for DBS surgery as my tremors are really bad but don’t know how I feel about this I think it’s the unknown also I’m not too keen on being semi awake for the operation.
What I am seeking is some advice on the stages of Parkinson’s also can you ask to be put under general anesthesia for the operation and what is the recovery time. I have other health issues such as Degenerative disc disease and I had Caudia Equine Syndrome which caused nerve damage in my legs.
Not knowing much about Parkinson disease is my main concern and the surgery.
I am 46 years old and used to be a very physical person as I was a builder.

Any advice from someone would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Darren

Hi Darren you are in the right place for advice but you have to bear in mind that no two people with pd are same I am 9th member of my family with pd and whilst we all have a few symptoms that are same we also have things that nobody else has there is a lot of info out there so I would suggest you take time to check out all options some meds work for some people and not for others I would suggest that if you don’t have a pd nurse you need to get in touch with your local health board they will be invaluable to you as is helpline try to keep clear head if I can help please do get back to me
Pete

Hi @Darren1972,

Welcome to the forum.