Rasagiline tablets

Hi I was put on Azilect Rasagiline 1mg when I was diagnosed in February this year and it seems the longer I'm taking them the stiffer I get I take it 7 in the morning and by 10 ish I am starting to stiffen up I also take Propraolol10mg three times a day for the tremors yet when it gets to 7 ish in the evening the stiffness seems to fade of which I find strange I am just about to start taking Sinemet 12.5 mg/50mg one  three times a day and wondered if that would help relieve those symptoms during the day

has anybody suffered with similar problems with rasagiline tablets sorry if I'm going over old ground hear

many thanks Colin

Colin,

I'm not a doctor, but I think what is happening is this.

At your early stage, your body is still producing some dopamine. As the disease progresses the short-fall increases and it is common for the medication to be increased over time.

Rasagiline is a long lasting drug with a fairly constant benefit. 1mg of rasagiline is "worth" about 100mg of levodopa in Sinemet.

I don't think the rasagiline is causing your stiffness. Rather it is likely to be reducing your stiffness, but unfortunately not by enough to eliminate it.

You report you are OK between 7 and 10 in the morning. This I suspect comes from your body storing dopamine while you are sleeping.

The Sinemet is likely to reduce the stiffness, but it is short lasting, so you may have "off" periods between doses.

John

Hi John 

thanks for your reply that's very interesting & helps me to understand things a little better.it just seemed strange that for the first month and up to the end of the second month the Rasagiline  didn't seem to be doing anything & made me wonder why I was taking it still had my normal stiffness & then I started getting steadily worse as I went on & your right John I do have better days just seem to forget them when you feel so bad on your worse days