Recently diagnosed Parkinsons - possible Parkinsons Plus

Hi, I have been recently diagnosed, while still waiting on a possible Parkinsons Plus diagnosis. According to my Neurologist I have it the last two years. I am on Sinnemet and Azilect but on last visit there has been no dramatic improvement of symptoms which are slowness, rigidity and fatigue and also footdrop. I have a splint on my leg and use a stick. I do feel a bit in limbo at the minute not knowing if I have Parkinsons Plus. Hoping that maybe someone has experience of a similar situation that might know how long it takes for a confirmation of same. I am in my mid fiftys. Thanking you .

What’s Parkinsons Plus ??

Just googled it as I have never come across it before. It sounds like you have been dealt a worse hand than a majority on this forum. Hope you get the answers your looking for.

Hi ieddleston,
thanks for your reply. Am a newbie here so just finding my way around. :slight_smile: Actually not totally knowledgeable on the subject either. From what I understand I have all the Parkinsons symtoms with additional ones also. Apparently it can take some time for a definate diagnosis. Again you can read all sorts on Google and what I have read is that it is harder to treat.
Thought on this forum someone may have more information on the subject. In the meantime I try to carry on as best I can.

Hi Carml,

Have you considered looking for a local group or getting involved in local activities? I wonder if you’d find someone who is going through the same thing. You may have done this already but thought it was worth mentioning. Parkinson’s is so unique to each individual, you really never know who you will meet.