Requip XL

Hi all

I am about to take Requip XL snd would like to know if anyone knows
a) How long before effects become noticeable
b) How long before any side effects become noticeable?

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

[This post has been edited by the moderators. This was because there was some confusion about the name of the drug which has now been clarified]
My earlier posts about Reflux XL should have read Requip XL. Sorry for the confusion!

Does anyone know how long it takes to get into the system and how long before any effects (good or bad) manifest themselves?

Thanks for your patience.
First :I have no experience with Requip or Requip XL. I take a similar drug called Mirapexin. Both drugs are widely prescribed, they are called dopamine agonists and you will find a lot of postings on this forum in the treatment section on this subject.
As you will have been started on a low dose to get your system used to this drug and lessen the impact from side effects (like nausea) you might initially not notice anything. The dose will increase over the coming weeks, but go slowly at your own pace as the effect of the drug might be delayed and the next higher dose might not be necessary. Side effects are generally acceptable,watch out for drowsiness, especially when driving(don't if affected). The main side effect that can have a devastating impact on your life, that you AND your family should look out for is a form of Impulse Control Disorder. This is more likely at the higher doses and if you are sensitive to this, but this can not always be predicted. See all the warnings on the treatment forum.
I have been taking Mirapexin now for almost 10 years with minor side effects such as lower leg oedema. Some people cannot tolerate Requip and are switched to Mirapexin and vice versa.
Hi

I'd just like to add that the person I knew who was taking this actually fell asleep in his car when he stopped at traffic lights, so be very careful driving.

Best of luck

Amy