Running anyone

Hi all,

I've been running for almost ten years, during the whole of which time I have had some illness which has been recently christened Parkinson's (June 2009). I've been very lucky with the disease progressing quite slowly. My running proceeds quite slowly too, but training for the Lowe Alpine Mountain Marathon last year has really made me wonder. I was quite surprise how much running with a pack and up hills did for leg strength and general ability.

Any other Parkie distance runners out there? What has your experience been?
Hi all...ran a couple of times a week for the past few years and belonged the mad running group Aberdeen Hash House Harriers. I was diagnosed August 2011. Since parkinsons symptoms appeared the running stopped as it affected not only my dexterity but my walking too. The past 6 mths have been really hard, but I'm on meds now and I'm going to attempt running again. My only concern is if the meds won't be adequate and I end up with the toe cramps I used to get....anyway still going to give it a go and get back up that hill with the dog too!
Hello
I think that's wonderful that you're a runner and an encouragement to us all to exercise. When I was diagnosed two months ago my consultant gave me 3 bits of advice: keep positive,listen to music and do exercise. I said yoga and he said, 'aerobic exercise is best'. Since I'd had the symptoms [and we all know what they are]I'd got to staying in and I missed so much the fell walking I used to do. He said to 'just do it' so now I've started walking, not for long, but it increases my confidence in my potential. Maybe I'm not so disabled as I fear but we don't know until we try.
Maryowen
Hi everyone,