Short term memory loss

Hi

I’m only 43 but am experiencing short term memory loss.
I used to be good at doing sums in my head, now it’s harder, I use the calculator instead. I put my phone down and a minute later I can’t remember where I put it. Etc.
The PD nurse say it’s too early for me to have that problem as I was only diagnosed 1 year ago.
She said it might be the medication or just my anxiety.
What do other people think? I take sinemet, amantadine and mirapex.

Thanks.

To quote the section on memory loss on the main Parkinsons UK site :
“Your doctor may use the term ‘mild cognitive impairment’ to describe this. Mild memory and thinking problems will not affect all people with Parkinson’s, and can occur at any stage of the condition.”
I am no expert but it sounds like it doesn’t matter if you are one year or 31 years diagnosed, mild memory problems can occur.
Rose

1 Like

I was diagnosed 15 months ago and it’s one of the things I have noticed. I regularly lose my train of thought especially during long conversations. I find it very embarrassing when you suddenly stop talking mid sentence and can’t remember what you was going to say.

Oh the joys of PD !!!

Hi Wildrover
Yes I guess it is the PD itself.
In that situation, personally I wouldn’t want to get embarrassed about it, I’d just say to the person I have PD because I’ve spent enough time with a psychoanalyst being reminded that I’m always attacking myself and I don’t want to do it any more.
I also have this odd problem with people’s names, with some people I get their names mixed up, even people I’ve known for years! Decades in some cases. My solution is I don’t address them by name.

I have exactly the same symptoms