Should my mum go for DBS?

Hi everyone!

This is my first time doing this, joining an online forum and expressing feeling and stories.

My mum has PD, and has had it for 7 years now. She takes Madopar 12.5/50 capsules x2 4 times a day ( what has been changed on the 10/10/18, as she use to take x2 x3 times a day ) and also takes Half Sinemet CR 25mg/100mg x1 twice a day. She was taking sinemet and Madopar together at 10.00am and 22.00pm. We have changed the time for her Sinemet to 08.00am and 20.00 so the medicine can desolve and will be ready for Madopar.

My mum has been in and out of hospital for the past two weeks as she has been getting really bad voluntary movements from Madopar (which is a side effect - dyskinesia). We are waiting to be seen by her neurology doctor, hopefully tomorrow (22/10/18). I’m hoping he will take her off the Madopar and try something else like dopamine patches?

As my mum is in a bad state, her legs have really bad bruises as her legs been hitting each other and she hardly sleeps. My brother has been thinking about DBS, deep brain stimulation. Wondering if anyone has experienced what my mum has, What options did you have?

Any information would help please.

Hi @Sasha,

A warm welcome to the forum.

I’m really sorry to hear about your mum’s recent admissions to the hospital. I’m sure this must be distressing for both you and your mum.

We have a supportive community on the forum so I’m confident you’ll hear from other members soon, however in the meantime, we have a blog where we’ve covered the topic of DBS and it also explores the point in which the treatment should become an option for someone with Parkinson’s. You can find this information here - https://medium.com/parkinsons-uk/deep-brain-stimulation-explained-99b75a8c744d

I hope this helps you and all the best to you and your mum.

Best wishes,
Reah - Community Manager