Sleep problems in final stages

Hi
My dad has had PD for the past 10 years and we are sadly into the final stages. He is now bed ridden and confused and hallucinating most of the time. He sometimes just doesnt sleep for 48hrs or so, its like he cannot switch off his mind. The GP prescribed Zopiclone but his consultant didn't really want us to use them and gave Clonazepam, but this doesn't seem to help him sleep.
Would be great to hear from anyone who has any experiences, I would love to find something to help Dad, its so hard to watch him not sleeping and his mind ticking away constantly.
thanks
Hi,
I am so sorry to read about your dad,

I have no experience if this so i cant help however i know what I would do in you position,and that would be to make sure that my dad was getting some comfort. So I would give him what ever made him get some sleep.

[u]This is just my opinion of course[/u]
kind regards

jaylew
Hi

Yes I shall probably do that, its hard thou when you get conflicting advice from the professionals and then you also read the side affects of the drugs and I can just tie myself in knots!

But yes its just best that he can sleep so will probably give them a go.
good luck

jaylew
Marjo,
It always makes me have a cold shiver when I read posts about final stages,it must be a hard time for your whole family.seeing someone you love and feeling so helpless.You posting on here wanting information,peoples experiances just shows how much you care.I wish I could give some advice but afraid a part from maybe giving the helpline a call thats it.
Thinking of you,Take Care Dot xx
I feel the same dotty.