Spouse of Early Onset PDer

Any spouse/partners out there of 40 something year olds with PD?, I am struggling at the mo.

How do you cope?

Me.

The wife recently diagnosed. It's been tough. Very tough. I'm still emotionally up and down like a yoyo and I'm still learning to cope but it's very early days - The meds she has started have had an instant positive response which has helped her enormously. Early days, one at a time from now on.

Glad to hear the medication has worked well, its working slowly with mine. Yoyo,! yep I know that feeling.

Would appreciate what type of meds she is using, as the co benaldopo my wife is taking has no effect at all, sorry about the spelling.

Hi my hubby was diagnosed 18 months ago age 43. I have found this diagnosis very tough, I remember being in a total state of shock for over a year but I think that as time goes on we all learn to accept what life deals us, the biggest problem my oh has is with fatigue and he has a very manually demanding job that he isn't coping with which is very stressful for him. Nearly two years on we are accepting this but it is still a roller coaster ride with some bad but now some good days.

klou

ropinerole, now increased to 3 x 2 mg a day with anti sickness pills, they are working but slowly. still some good days and some not so good. probably have to increase some more to get full effect.

Sorry to hear that Klou, I do understand. Wife has had to cut her hours to only 2 a day, fatigue being the issue. This obviously brings with it financial problems on top of everything else we have to struggle with. Drugs are slowly getting there, hopefully in a few months she will be able to get back to working some more as it does do her good both physically and mentally. Hope the same can be done with your hubby. Yep, good days and bad days, enjoy the good days, chill out on the bad ones. Easier said than done I know.