Starting Sinemet with Rasagiline

Hi, newbie here, so hope I’m doing this correctly. I’m 57, first diagnosed about 18 months ago after a slight loss of dexterity in my right hand. I have been on Rasagiline 1mg since last September and I have now been given the option of adding Sinemet 12.5mg/50mg.

I haven’t started taking them yet. GP says it’s a low dose and it sounds straightforward enough although three tablets a day will take some getting used to. He even said alcohol in moderation is OK but I am very nervous. Not sleeping well but that may have something to do with the fact that I’ve just heard I’m being made redundant!

The first neurologist I saw privately but I am now with the NHS - first guy said I may well have a mild PD which should respond well to treatment, which sounded very positive. I had an MRI and CT which was really to rule out other issues I believe - all clear.

18 months on and with just Rasagiline I am still mobile, no falls, just a limp (which may also be my arthritis) but loss of dexterity in my right hand - I now type with just my left. Also occasional slight tremor on my right.

I’m wondering how much of an improvement I can expect if I go on Simenet - I expect it’s another case of it being different with each individual though?? Is there any benefit from waiting? I expect you can’t give medical advice and I understand that but any thoughts?

Anyway, thanks for reading and any constructive thoughts/comments welcome!

Hi!

Hope you’re doing ok? I’m a newbie too but read your message and saw that I’m on exactly the same
medication and dosage.
Also very similar situation with tremor and lack of dexterity.

I started mine about 6 months ago and some days it works, some days it doesn’t. However everyone is different and I believe situations play a role.

I take the sinemet and Rasagilne in the morning and within 1/2 hr I can type using my right hand. Don’t be nervous about taking the meds, you may find it will work wonders!!

2 Likes