Support?

Hi

I am new to this forum. My mum has PD and is in a nursing home. I am in my late 20's and wondered if there was any services where I could meet people of a similar age that understand the emotions I am going through in trying to cope with all that comes with this. I don't feel comfortable attending a group so was just thinking more one on one to chat about my experience. I have some very close friends who are very supportive but they just don't understand!! Any info would be great.

Thanks
Hi java96,
Welcome to the community.

There are a few people who have parents with the condition on this forum and some of them might be able to answer questions or concerns you have.

If you'd like to speak to someone on the telephone, our Peer Support service might be helpful. There is more information and the telephone number here: http://bit.ly/SyFpQ1

I hope it helps,
Ezinda
Hi Java96,I understand your difficulty a little as I used to be a carer then Manager of a Care Home where people had P.D at varying degrees ( I had to leave when I was diagnosed myself) I used to talk with each persons family daily as a carer and at least twice a month as Manager where you would be able to discuss not only your mothers health and care but yours as well. and if you need more support in any way in my area there is a group called Furness Carers they arrange talks cafe chats and trips out for the carer and are able to access any info you require.Social Services should be able to help you find such a group But get to know mums carers they will help x soop
hi Java96,

My mum was recently diagnosed with PD, and i am on in my early 20's. Its hard but everyone on here are really helpful. i was really frustrated with the diagnosis but the main thing is to remember you are not alone