Talking to people about Parkinson's

Hi all, 

I'm a Resources Editor at Parkinson's UK . We're in the process of updating our information sheet, 'Talking to people about Parkinson's'. 

I am really keen to include some new personal experiences so I thought the forum was the place to ask. 

• How did you tell your family about your diagnosis? Friends? Colleagues?
  • Did you tell everyone straightaway? Or did you tell different people at different times? How did you decide who you told first?
  • Did anything help you when you did tell people - information? A positive attitude? 
  • Have you had to tell people unexpectedly? For example, at airport security? 
  • Do you have tips for telling someone you have Parkinson's?

Look forward to hearing from you!

Hi Karen

I think it is all very individualistic. I have been very open about my Parkinson's (even on dating sites!). Personally, I think it is counter-productive to not tell people; by not telling people you deny to yourself what is happening in your own body and with something like Parkinson's other people can see it anyway! Better to clear the confusion and clear the air so you both can move on and stop wondering ("does he/she know"; "has he/she got something wrong with them"). Many times I have told someone and they have said, "my Mum/Grandfather/Dad etc has Parkinson's".

I prefer to inhabit and live alongside Parkinson's instead of trying to fight its reality in my life. Telling people ironically helps me see beyond the disease and focus on what is left of me instead of only seeing what Parkinson's has taken away. Its like I peel off the mask by telling people and can just be me.

Also in no way can you control how people react to you; believe me I've tried. Pesky free will gets in the way! If someone reacts badly to my disclosure of Parkinson's I try to educate them. If that doesn't work I shrug my shoulders and move on. It is their loss if all they can see is the disease.