Ultrasound removing shakes

Intersting programme on TV last night called "trust me i'm a Doctor"

Showed a PD sufferer with very shaky hand being given ultrasound to a specific part of the brain, after a 4 hour treatment his shakes had completely gone !

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p01dgf1w/Trust_Me_Im_A_Doctor_Episode_1/

But for how long?

this sounds just another variation of Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) where a transducer is embeded in the brain and energised via a controller inserted in the upper chest area.  Clearly DBS is permanent whereas the ultrasonic stimulae featured in the TV program is not.  I therefore also question just how long the reduction in tremour symptoms lasted.  Also I'm not sure weather the DBS system operates with ultrasonic energy or some other frequency.   

....but for how long ?

It would seem to be permament  Caroline..

Quote "At the University of Virginia, they are pioneering a new kind of treatment, which can destroy the tiny piece of brain tissue causing the tremor without even opening up the skull." Unquote

Can research comment and find out about availability in the UK?

thanks

GG

The drawback of this treatment seems to be the destruction of certain cells, which would make it irreversible. This in contrast to DBS treatment which  does no damage and is reversible.

Hi everyone

Thanks for posting about this Kyloe, we’ve had quite a few enquiries about the recent ‘Trust me, I’m a doctor’ episode you mention.

The programme discussed the use of focused ultrasound as a ‘lesioning’ technique for Parkinson’s. Lesioning means damaging certain cells within specific areas of the brain and works in a very similar way to deep brain stimulation.

This new approach using ultrasound is non-invasive so people don’t have their skulls opened up. But as Kyloe and Kate say it is also permanent - it irreversibly damages the nerve cells in the brain.