Unstable floor - like being on a ship

Hi
I’m new to this so not sure what to expect from it, but hoping that I can find someone with a similar symptom to one of mine. I’m a 72 year old man diagnosed with Parkinson’s about 18 months ago. Initially the main symptom was a tremor in my right hand which didn’t really impact on my normal activities so no medication was necessary and I was able to carry on as normal. As time goes on I’ve noticed other symptoms creeping in, everything takes longer than it used to and fatigue is a bit of a problem, but I try to exercise regularly as I find it helps me overall. About 9 months ago I noticed that the floor appeared to be swaying, it was like standing on the deck of a ship. At first I used to laugh it off and imagine I was on a cruise, but after a while I found it affects my walking particularly when starting off or changing direction. When explaining it to the medics they all misunderstand me and assume I’m talking about Postural Hypotension, which I understand is a common problem associated with Parkinson’s, but I don’t get dizzy and when I check my blood pressure after standing up it’s invariably higher than when seated. About 6 months ago I started taking Sinemet , which didn’t appear to give me any benefits but merely made the symptom more pronounced, particularly when the dose was increased. I’m currently on 25/100mg 3 times a day and the Neurologist did suggest that a higher dose might be appropriate. She sent me for a CT scan to see if there were any abnormalities in my brain that would be causing it, but nothing showed up. I’m wondering if anybody else on the forum experiences the same symptom, and if so have they found a suitable medication. Thank you

Robin

Hi @Oaf / Robin,