What a year it’s been

Hi my name is Rhian. I live in West London with my partner Mark. I am a school teacher but have not been teaching for the last year as I’ve been signed off with depression and anxiety. In the Autumn term of last year I was seen by the occupational health unit and the doctor suggested I might get a referral for Parkinson’s. So I went to my doctor and on December 21st I was seen by the neurologist . He confirmed that I had Parkinson’s and sent me for an MRI scan, which I had on the 2nd January. Well, when the results came through it was found that I had a brain tumour the size of a tennis ball. I have to admit I felt as though I’d been hit by a sledgehammer.
To cut a long story short on the 4th February I had it removed and thankfully it was found to be benign and slow growing. So now I’m just trying to come to terms with the diagnosis of Parkinson’s. I’m on half sinemet which help with the symptoms as well as the anxiety.

Wow…that is a lot of bad stuff in a very short space of time to get your head and heart around. And yet somewhere inside you there is a spark which urged you to make contact with the outside world via this forum. You must be stronger than you think or feel (if that doesn’t sound tooo much like those corny feel good sound bites…sorry if it does)
So much to cope with and it can easily feel like you are on your own, …but the reality is that there are a lot of people out there, amongst whom you will find, surprisingly or otherwise (it always seems to be different people to who you would expect) who will allow you to cry, make you laugh, do you a kindness, offer some support…whatever it is you need at the time.Horses for courses…we are all different so it cannot be a one size fits all, but everyone knows that, except the manufacturers!
Lots of different places on this forum for example for different issues or moods…just have a rummage around and see what you find and takes your fancy.
Welcome anyway!
Best wishes, Pippa

1 Like