Writing on the Wall?

Hi Everyone,

Not really sure where to start. I’m 46 and have never had any health problems previously, although I drink like a fish!

I haven’t been diagnosed yet but have had a couple of worrying test results and a number of symptoms that have all started over the past year but in reality one or two may have been present longer.

In January/February of this year I started to notice that I was having issues swallowing, mainly at night. It felt like my throat was tight and I was producing more saliva that usual. There was also an odd thudding/clicking sound when swallowing some of the time. I got GP referral for an ENT appointment but that got cancelled due to Covid. I kind of pushed the issue to the back of my mind and stopped noticing it with all the stuff going on with Coronavirus.

I’ve been running regularly for around 4 years and I have been picking up more and more odd injuries having never really suffered with anything major before. Then, around March/April I noticed that I was getting stiffer and stiffer, particularly in my right leg. It felt as if my muscles were about to cramp or pull whilst running. After longer runs I could barely walk the next day because of the stiffness. In reality, this may have been coming on for a while but it’s progressively getting worse.

I wasn’t too worried until mid-August when I started with widespread fasciculations that have been with me all day and all night since. It’s non stop. That got me worried about ALS, as my Dad has FTD (diagnosed in his 60s). There can be a genetic link between the two and we don’t have a full family history on his side.