Your first inkling

What was it that gave you the first clue that you had Parkinson’s?
I am a teacher and my pupils constantly complained that my writing had got too small.
There were other signs that when put together made the jigsaw puzzle whole but I was very good at hiding them.

Weirdly I genuinely didn’t have a clue I had Parkinson’s until I was told by the neurologist even though I presented with a one-sided tremor, which should have been a dead giveaway. In spite of all my googling I’d managed to completely convince myself that it wasn’t Parkinson’s.

Looking back the first symptoms had actually appeared years before in the form of crippling attacks of anxiety - which had actually already caused me to leave my teaching job. Also loss of sense of smell but I didn’t know that was linked to Parkinson’s. Once I was given the diagnosis it was all blindingly obvious though.

Is loss of smell quite common?
One very strange thing. I have always been a savoury eater.
Now I crave sweet things all of the time.

I believe that loss of smell is very common. I think mine has improved since I’ve been on medication though.

My tastes haven’t changed though - I’m also a savoury eater and still feel that way.

I didnt know until I was diagnosed early last year. I had numb feet three years before that, and my taste changed. Tea does not taste the same now, and I developed high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and had two tias. I could have done without all of that! Thankfully, chocolate tastes the same…

hi i was taken to hospital of a suspected stroke in november 2017
turned out it was a TIA
Now ive been diagnosed with parkinsons
ive gone off crips and other simular eatables
but chocolate i never could
i also have unsteady blood pressure it cant make up its mind where it wants to be
im an avid tea drinker
call me mr tetley

take care
keith

I’m eating bars of chocolate in the middle of the night :owl:
Ice cream,cakes,biscuits,sweets.
It’s a craving almost.