Anyone else taking this cocktail

Diagnosed in 2010 and started taking Ropinirole progressing over the next four years to the maximum licenced dose of 24mg per day. Added to this was 1mg per day of azilect.

Late on last year with everything going downhill my consultant put me on levodopa and things have improved, he has however left me taking the existing drugs.

does anyone else take this mix, do you have any problems doing so.

My gut feeling is that this is not the best approach but i need to build my case before I see consultant in April.

Hi Drifflad

I am no doctor but to be on the maximum licensed dose of Ropinirole and have added Levadopa within 4 years of diagnosis sounds very odd to me.

Dose-related impulse control disorders such as Hypersexuality and gambling are very likely at such a high dose of DAs and as doses need adjusting upwards as the disease progresses it would seem the neuro isn't leaving much room for future increases.

When you say things were going downhill, do you mean physically?

If so there are alternative courses of action to consider such as DBS and the Duodopa pump...

I wonder if you could ring your Parkinsons Nurse or the helpline for advice?

My husband was the victim of an overprescribing consultant neuro so maybe I am over-cautios but I wouldn't like to see anyone else come to harm.

Take advice and stay safe.

Love

GG

hi im on 18mg requip and 125 sinemet three times a day adding slow release at night . only diagnosed 7 mths ago . think i had  it for while but missed , told by consultant need base line of sinemet then add in other drugs to make it work better .sounds like what your drs are doing .

I am really surprised to read that patients are on such high doses of drugs so soon after being diagnosed.There are a number of causes of concern..

I had understood that these drugs need to be introduced carefully with small increases until the desired dose is achieved.