Breathing and coughing problems

Hi all,

I’m a Biomedical science student from the Netherlands and I have a few questions concerning breathing and coughing in people with Parkinson’s disease for my research. Breathing and coughing problems seem to be underestimated among doctors when treating Parkinson’s disease patients so I’m wondering how you experience these problems?

What type of breathing and/or coughing problems do you experience because of Parkinson’s disease (for example, pain when breathing or being out of breath faster than you used to or maybe your cough is less powerful then it used to be)? Maybe you do not experience any breathing and/or coughing problems at all because of Parkinson’s disease.

How big of an impact do these problems have on you daily life (for example do you avoid certain situations because of your breathing and/or coughing problems or do you sleep less because of these problems)?

Do you notice a difference in breathing or coughing when you are in “OFF” state compared to your “ON” state (for example do you experience more wheezing)?

Do you experience any anxiety because of your breathing and/or coughing problems caused by Parkinson’s disease?

I’d also like to know your age if possible and also at what age you were diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease.

This is not an official questionnaire but I’m just very curious what type of breathing and coughing problems people with Parkinson’s disease deal with and how it affects their daily lives!

Thanks in advance!

-Chris