Dla

I have had the mobility component of DLA for about 8 years because of my dodgy heart

I feel I should be entitled to the care component now. But I am scared to apply

I was a welfare rights officer before I retired 11 years ago ,I was lucky to get early retirement 

this government has me in a rage and things have changed so much.

8 years ago I wouldn't have thought twice about applying but I now have lost confidence 

Hi gcy. I take it you have Parkinson's as well?  Yes, applying for DLA is a rather laborious process but don't let it put you off if you think you're entitled to it. Might be worth discussing it with your local information and support worker.  And, of course, there is always the Parkinson's UK helpline. Good luck!

Laborious is one way of putting it , i have been waiting for a form to be sent to me for 6 weeks apparently DWP  have to confirm my identity  by me taking identification to a local job centre  trouble is i cant take the id till i get the letter that i have been waiting 6 weeks for  no one seems to know why it has not been sent i now have to wait a further 5 days for someone to call me back to try resolve it no doubt i will not get the call back

Hi gcy.

You can't apply for the DLA Care Component now, because PIP is being phased in from 10th June, so any new claim from that date has to be a claim for PIP, even though you are already receiving DLA Mobility.

https://www.gov.uk/dla-disability-living-allowance-benefit

Hope this helps!

Kathy  smile

I am over 65 Kathy I thought it wasn't changing for us oldies

Hi gcy.