Handwriting

Deterioration in my handwriting was the very first symptom of Parkinsons for me, although it was about 3 years before gait initiation difficulties sparked off investigations and eventual diagnosis. Oddly, and thankfully, I can still draw - I worked as a graphic designer and now continue to paint & draw for pleasure, when my dwindling energy levels allow. My writing rapidly went from being neat and controlled to untidy, and is now illegible even to me, and my signature is rather different. I use the computer and printer for letters etc, but hate knowing I can't write a personal message in a birthday card. Phone messages & shopping lists are a problem. It is all too fast - however much I tell myself to write slowly and think of one letter at a time, after writing about 3 letters it goes out of control again. I have tried writing in capital letters, but can't sustain their legibility.

How do other people cope with filling in forms, writing envelopes etc? Has anyone found ways of improving their handwriting? And how come I can still draw reasonably well (although fine shading is difficult)? I assume that different brain pathways are being used for the automatic movements (writing) and the considered movements (drawing).

S

I used too write in big letters (well my idea of big) and now i write in tiny letters some of the letters are flat M's look like sea gulls and 'a' is a squiggle, most of it if i'm forced too write is a waste of time, i can hardly read it myself and i wrote it lol.

I did try and write a list of single words(for my memory i wanted too bring up) for the last appointment with the PD nurse,problems i wanted too tell her about, i was amazed she could read some of it.