Late stage Parkinson's

I would like to start off by explaining, that I do not have PD. But the reason why I have decided to join the forum is for two reasons. My father-in-law does and I work as a Health Care Professional (HCP) and from time to time come across people with PD. I would like to find out more about PD. I certainly know of its effect on my f-in-l. He lived with us for a month last year and to cut a long story short he in now in a nursing home. Even though I have read up on PD and even though my job as a HCP has made me perhaps more aware of PD. I still don;t know what to expect from the end stages. If this is a subject that is too horrible or raw for people to think about then please kindly disregard this message, as I don't wish to cause any distress to anyone. However, my own family often ask me, what next? will he go down hill further? All I can answer them is 'well he is being well looked after 24/7 - thats the main thing'. Can anyone offer any advice.
Hello Pudular,

As a HCP, you will be aware that pd is an incurable (at present) degenerative neurological condition. It is also highly individual. So I am afraid that I at least cannot offer a definitive answer to your Q "what next, what can we expect?" I think that your A to your families Q's re your FIL is most appropriate. He is being looked after , being kept safe and hopefully is appreciating your support.

It is indeed a difficult subject to put forward, but it is one that I know that it is one of which that I and my small family are constantly aware
Hi

I think that what anneberdette has already said is probably about right,everyone is different, it also makes a difference if the person has other medical conditions. The most important thing is being looked after well and making sure that your father-in-law has his meds on time and drinks enough water as this is a major problem in nursing homes.