Yopd online meet up

Hi,

Im 44 male from Birmingham, married with a 6 year old boy just diagnosed last month which is pretty scary.

Still in denial phase. Told friends and family but not work and just started on madopar 3 weeks ago which i think is starting to work. I am an avid mountain biker, snowboarder, video gamer and Netflix/Disney + watcher. I work as an IT consultant (pretty boring I know).

Would love to meet similar people to hear about how you manage and any tips you have. I could not find a recent active yopd group in uk so far and everything seems to be in US. Message me if you would be interested to meet online and share experiences or invite me to your group if one dxists!

1 Like

Hi AAO,
Welcome to our forum community. Youā€™re too right in wanting to share your experience with others going through YOPD. We would highly recommend reaching out to our advisory team. They are on 0808 800 0303, and this is a free and confidential service, staffed with truly wonderful people with a wealth of resources to share, including connecting you with groups in your area. We would also invite you to peruse our website, a resource in which many have found great value. You may wish to start here, an information section on YOPD.
Weā€™re happy to have you here. Please have a look around. You might be surprised at what our lovely community has to offer.
Wishing you the best,
Jason
Forum Moderator

1 Like

Hiya! Iā€™m 52 so youngish :smiley: diagnosed in Feb this year. Still working and mum to 2 teens so often no time to dwell on things. I think I took my diagnosis better earlier on but the reality has set in in the last couple of months and I have been struggling a bit. Work and family have been amazing though and Iā€™m very fortunate to have great support around me

1 Like

That is amazing Vicki1008.
The fact that you have accepted this ā€¦, I have no doubt I will be banned if I state my true thoughts on PD, and are getting on with your life is stunning.